Looking Back To Gain Perspective

Copyrighted by Dollar Photo - 2015 - by bravestatements
Copyrighted by Dollar Photo – 2015 – by bravestatements

“The fact that we live at the bottom of a deep gravity well, on the surface of a gas covered planet going around a nuclear fireball 90 million miles away and think this to be normal is obviously some indication of how skewed our perspective tends to be.”
― Douglas Adams, The Salmon of Doubt: Hitchhiking the Galaxy One Last Time

I started this blog back in 2009 after (euphemism alert) a business event forced me to transition into a job search. Blogging was recommended as an opportunity to set myself apart. Over the past seven years, I’ve learned more about how I thought and felt about project management then I learned during my first few years of working in this field.

Running a large project can be like being caught up in a 100-mile-an-hour hurricane. A PM can get caught up in getting the work done and think less about why you approached a project in a certain way or how you addressed a difficult situation. Reflecting on Project Management on this blog has helped me find the eye of the hurricane and think through how and why I approach my projects the way I do.

When I started the blog I was focused on Process and the wonders of the Waterfall methodology. What I’ve learned since then is that there are more ways to manage a project than can be captured in a methodology or a set of Guidelines. I am still fond of Waterfall and the PMBOK, but the more I learn about Agile and Kanban, the fonder I grow of them.

This year I’d like to do more reflecting on Effectiveness:
* By sharing Books that can help us be more effective
* By learning more about how to be more effective with teams, difficult people and situations

Writing this blog has helped me think my thoughts out loud. Thank you for reading them. Leave a comment or send me a tweet, my id is @jgodfrey

Leave a Reply

