Shisso: Where are we going in 2014?

On Feb 12, 2009, I started my blog with a post titled: “Under Construction”.  This is what I wrote:

To my under construction blog. My goal is to write about books, events and ideas that interest me about project management. Please excuse the mess while it is still under construction.

At the time, I had been laid off and was trying to stay motivated during my job hunt.  I started where I was and reviewed books and wrote about Project Management concepts.

With the start of new year and nearing the 5th year of the blog’s existence, it seemed like a good time to review my reason for blogging.  Why write a blog rather than a journal?  You can rant in a journal.  You can go on and on about personal issues that no one else cares about in a journal.  What’s the point of writing a blog?

After a day of turning this question over in my head, I realized that blogging kind of complimented my tweeting.  I tweet to remind myself of what I’ve learned.  Blogging is where I process my thoughts and where I learn.  For me, blogging forces me:

  • To get out of my small world to see how others are managing projects in the current business environment
  • To continue to reach out to others and learn from reading and dialogue
  • To continue to explore why I want to get better at this profession

Why should you read this blog?

  • Newbies to Project Management may find some useful information here about being a PM, how to get more PDUS, and how to survive your bad days
  • Experienced PMs may find a book that might expand your knowledge about Project Management and possibly a place to commiserate

What you won’t find here:

  • Rants about my projects
  • Stuff about current events – unless the current events are affected by Project Management

What I hope you’ll explore with me is what else there is to learn about Project Management, recommended books that will provide more insight and occasionally (project-related) links that may make you laugh.

I hope you’ll join me this year.

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

