Twitter is a great project management tool…Except When It’s Not

A year later

The buzz about Twitter has died a slow death.

It’s been more than a year since I’ve read a post about how great Twitter is for…

meeting people,

making contacts,

expanding your reputation,

learning new ideas,

and so on.

I can usually ride the wave of blogs and tweets related to fads with the best of them.

I can ignore some of them, laugh about and scroll past others when I’m seen too many of the ‘same old same old’. But posts on Twitter’s usefulness for Project Management have always stuck a little in my craw.

A Year Later…

Did we really think that?

I know that the ability to increase your contacts and knowledge is true…and I’m am grateful for all of the people I have met through Twitter and the useful information that flows into my life because I follow some amazing people, BUT

  • Does anyone really tweet business confidential information?  The company I’m working at has fairly strict policies about what gets tweeted.
  • Do people really send out status updates on a project over Twitter?
  • I actually read somewhere that someone was starting a business providing project management services via Twitter…and I wonder how that went. I suspect that once the reality of tweeting business information over Twitter hit them, the desire to do so drained away.

Reality Check

What Twitter has been able to do is amazing

  • Sharing stories with other PMs has gone from a conversation you have with your cubemate to a worldwide conversation with hundreds of people.
  • The opportunity to learn from others’ experiences has increased exponentially as people tweet slide shows, videos, and posts about project management.
    As an aside: I wish there were a way to get PDUs for the information you learn from others via Tweets, blogs and other online exchanges – so much of my time goes to reading through them.
  • In a world where people believe they can find out who you are by Googling your name, Twitter is a very effective way of communicating your brand and the value you can offer to others
  • But mostly I’m glad that I can turn on Tweetdeck or Hootsuite and see that other PMs are having the same problems I am having on any given day: expressing my frustrations with paperwork, change management, people or process.

So while the buzz wasn’t entirely wrong, it might have been a little more enthusiasm than sense when it came to Project Management.

Disagree with me?  Have seen entire projects or businesses run on Twitter? Leave a comment or send me a tweet, my id is jgodfrey.

Leave a Reply

