Good Read: #Th!nktweet

Good Advice
Good Advice

When I was in college, I discovered the self-help and leadership sections of the library and I’ve never looked back. Taking advice from people who are further down the path has always seemed like a good idea.

I’m still reading and every book seems to bring into focus what is not working and offer advice on how to make my life work a little better than before.

Learning to Tweet

When I signed up for Twitter, I didn’t expect much, I mean, how much could someone say in 140 characters? I wanted to find out what the buzz was about. My initial thought was that it was impossible to use it for anything beyond short bursts of meaningless status = Noise.

The What are you doing? prompt at the top of the Twitter page did not make me think I was going to get much out of it. Sure you could tweet a few “short” quotes, but the most challenging ideas I’ve ever read were much longer than 140 characters.

Then I started following Rajesh Setty . I was surprised to find that not only could you say a lot in 140 characters, you could learn ideas and principles that could be just as profound as the ideas found in a book. When a tweet can challenge, irritate, provoke and push you out of your comfort zone, you realize that a lot can be said in 140 characters. His collection of 140 tweets, #Th!nktweet: Bite Sized Lessons for a Fast Paced World is worth several books.

#Th!nktweet and Project Management?

Before you say, what the heck does this have to do with Project Management? Take another look at the subjects he covers: from relationships to goal-setting, the tweets can help you expand your comfort zone and improve your effectiveness as a project manager.

Topics covered in #Th!nktweet: Created by Wordle.net
Topics covered in #Th!nktweet: Created by Wordle.net

And those are just a few of the topics he covers. The book is slim enough to read quickly and then pick up again and read each tweet again, more thoughtfully the second or third time around.

Like many of the posts on his blog, the book is good at dislodging you from your routine thought process. Sometimes with a smile, other times with a good hard kick to the tookus, and they all tend to generate a response. I recommend you hang onto it and reread it every year as I will.

Leave me a comment or send me a tweet, my id is jgodfrey.

Leave a Reply

