Preaching to the Choir: Posts that Speak to You


When you read a blog post

Ever feel like someone’s talking to you?

Speaking your language?

Reading your mind?

On those days, I feel less alone. I feel like the writers are definitely preaching to the choir.  Recently, I read a few blogs where I felt that questions I had been asking were answered.

7 Theses

The first was Uncle Bob’s post on Scrum/ Agile Failing or the 7 Theses of Uncle Bob Martin

If you’ve read this blog for a while, you’ll remember when I asked for help in understanding Agile.

A week later, I explained my paranoia towards

  • Overly sunny stories
  • Beliefs with no shadows and
  • People who drink the kool-aid and refuse to look at the opposite perspective.

Well Uncle Bob has dropped the other shoe.

InfoQ gave a quick review of his 7 theses about the shortcomings of Agile.

Shortcomings.

A word I thought I would never read coming from anyone but those critical of Agile. While I’m not rejoicing because someone has identified shortcomings, it does make me feel better about embracing Agile. It’s always better to know what you’re getting into and all the happy talk about “How wonderful Agile” is made me nervous.

Woe to Scope Creep

The second piece was on the use of the term: Scope Creep: Time to Retire “Scope Creep”

Tom Mertron handily takes aim at the term and the notion that scope should be set in stone. He brings us back to the real world of tradeoffs made in hopes of meeting the needs of the customer who signed off on the requirements months ago.

Read both posts and give them a chance to speak to you.

Agree, Disagree? Leave a comment, send me a tweet, my id is jgodfrey.

Leave a Reply

